Why I changed my mind about Twitter

Since I stopped blogging I’ve really fallen in love with Twitter. Firstly, it was for the networking opportunities. In the business I’m in (photography & design), networking is one of the most essential ingredients to success: your contacts are the people you rely on to make things happen.

I began to utilise Twitter (alongside other social media networks, of course) almost a year ago and, since then, I’ve found that it’s been easier to connect with a base of people all working on the same – or at least similar – wavelength to the one I’m on. These people are so like-minded to you, with the same passions and drive, but could come from completely different cultures or industries and I’ve found it to be an amazing way to broaden my cultural and educational experiences. Through networking I’ve been able to attend events and meet people that I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to do so before, and by attending such functions I am therefore physically networking as well.

I think that what’s best about the concept is the fact that people genuinely do want to support one another. The world, contrary to popular belief, is not full of people who want you to lift them up yet refuse to lend you a hand at all costs. In fact, I’ve found it actually to be quite the opposite.

Upon attending a particular event over the Summer, I was speaking to a fellow photographer about the concept of networking – of which I was fairly new to at the time – and what she said has undeniably stuck with me ever since: “If one of us makes it, we all make it”. I think that to have that attitude gives me absolute faith in kind people in this world, something perhaps we focus too little on.

IMG_0098.JPG
A photograph of Society of Alumni that I took at the said event. Check out more of photos on my Instagram or my portfolio.

But more than using it just for networking, I’ve found that Twitter can also be so useful for the validation of your own ideas. This definitely goes back to the support that is shown within the network you build for yourself, but I find that people are always willing to show some sort of validation for your ideas: whether is be as simple as “liking” or “retweeting” the tweet in which you express the idea or in creating a dialogue with you to discuss it. Of course, it is not always the case, which is often when you have to consider that either it wasn’t a fee sable idea or – to soften the blow – you posted at the wrong time.

Published by

SJ

A small-time teen blogger since '12.

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

