Jamie

Jamie Young is a singer-songwriter from the UK and with his new EP release looming, I caught him for a quick chat about all things from black socks to his musical influences. Cue talk of Matt Healy, boys and girls.
I'VE been recording my Debut EP for the past 6-7 months now

Welcome to Delirious Antidotes! It’s an absolute pleasure to have you on the blog. Can you quickly describe who you are to give my readers a short overview?

Thank you for having me! I’m Jamie Young 22 years old, Singer/Songwriter from Worcestershire.

Over the last few months, you’ve been working on your new EP. What can fans expect to hear from you?

Yeah I’ve been recording my Debut EP for the past 6/7 months now with another artist who’s producing it for me, Ben Stancombe. I think people can expect a range of different styles from the EP as I like to experiment with different things with music. I’m working with a very talented producer so I’m really excited about releasing it next year; we’ve spent a long time writing the EP so hopefully the hard work shows through the EP when people listen to it.

What made you decide to get into music?

I’ve always been into music since I was a kid. My mum always used to say I would grow up making music as I always used to be singing around the house and it’s the only thing that’s really motivated me. From as young as I remember music always been a big part of me and to have the chance to do stuff like record an EP and work with talented people is something I’ve always wanted to do.

What was the first song you ever remember hearing?
The first song I remember listening to was probably Red Red Wine from UB40. I’ve grown up listening to them when I was younger and they are a big influence.

How about the first concert you went to?

The first concert I went to was actually a UB40 gig when I was bout 7/8 years old.

What would you say the best concert you’ve ever been to was?

Best concert I’ve been to I would say has to be Drake. I saw him a couple of years ago on his Nothing Was The Same tour and he absolutely killed it. So much energy and it just put into perspective of how good of an artist he is.

tumblr_njiszuNn7C1sxhowpo1_500
I promised a little bit of Matt Healy, after all.
Who would you say your biggest musical influences are?

Biggest musical influences, there’s so many! UB40 is a big one cause they are the reason I wanted to do music, then more recent influences are artists like Drake, Justin Bieber, The Weekend, The 1975.

Dead or alive, which musicians would you most like to be in a band with?

I would have to say at this [moment] in time it’s gonna have to be Matt Healy from The 1975. He’s so good at what he does, he’s really creative and passionate about music, and he has such a good unique voice as well so it would have to be him

What’s your favourite memory from a gig you’ve played?

Favourite memory, I think when I did a charity gig for Help the Heroes about 3/4 years ago. I had all my family there and it was a nice occasion, and it was all for a good cause supporting our soldiers.

Of your own original songs and covers, which is your favourite?

That’s a tough one I like all my songs haha. I couldn’t choose one if I’m honest but I released a cover of Sex by The 1975 about 2/3 months ago I think that’s my favourite cover that I’ve done. But overall my favourite at the moment is the single for my EP. We recorded it a few weeks ago and it’s the best song I’ve written in my opinion, just hope everyone else agrees when they hear it haha.

Have you got a current project that you would like to raise attention regarding?

Yeah I wanna raise as much attention as I can to my EP that I’m working on which is titled ‘Tell You‘, which will be released at some point next year on iTunes! Also people can check out my covers of Sex and I See Fire that are on YouTube. And if you fancy it give my Facebook page a like for more updates.

JAMIE YOUNGReady for the quick fire round? What colour socks are you wearing?

Okay, I’m ready. Black.

Gold or silver?

Silver.

Sorbet or ice cream?

Ice cream.

Vegetables or fruit?

Fruit.

Recording music or playing live?

That’s a hard one, have to say at the moment recording studio.

Bus or train?

Train.

Piercings or tattoos?

Definitely tattoos.

BBC or ITV?

BBC.

Do you believe in ghosts?

No.

What’s the best/worst chat up line you’ve ever heard?

My friend once said to a girl “I’ve lost my virginity, can I have yours?”. It didn’t end well, haha.

It’s been great having you on my blog. Best of luck with all of your future ventures!

Thank you very much for having me!


 

CALLING ALLIf you enjoyed this interview as much as I enjoyed talking to Jamie about his music and future plans then give it a “like” or a “share” so that we can spread the word in the run up to his EP and spread some seasonal joy. Likewise, you can keep up to date with Jamie through his Facebook page here.

You can keep up to date with all of my interviews and other posts by following this blog or my social media sites displayed in the sidebar of the page (now includingFacebook!).

Likewise, if you are a musician or band member, you can get in contact in regards to an interview (and free promotion!) by contacting me via social media or email.

PAINT AND PAPER

 

Published by

SJ

A small-time teen blogger since '12.

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

