“Your Average Lad from Blackburn”

Nathan Grisdale is a singer-songwriter from Blackburn, UK, who describes himself as “your average lad from Blackburn”. His viral success began after he started to post videos of himself singing his original songs on Facebook and quickly grew a large following. Currently signed to Boxx Records, Nathan is going through the process of recording and releasing his new material. I was lucky enough to catch him for a quick chat.

Nathan GrisdaleWelcome to Delirious Antidotes! It’s an absolute pleasure to have you on the blog. Can you quickly describe who you are to give my readers a short overview?

Hi, I’m your average lad from Blackburn who loves to sing and eat KFC, haha. Yep, that kind of sums me up.

With over 700,000 likes on Facebook, over 20,000 followers on Twitter, and almost 50,000 subscribers on Youtube, your fanbase is growing from strength to strength. How important are your fans to you?

My fans are so important to me as they push my music out there and, literally, that means so much! I don’t know what I’d do without them supporting my music. 🙂 I’d like to thank them all for everything they have done so far in my career.

Due to your growing popularity, how often do you get recognised on the streets or in daily life?

A few times, but I don’t want to be big headed about it though haha. It’s all about the music to me but it feels good meeting fans in shopping centres and on the streets haha.

What was the first song you ever remember hearing?

Fast car – wow, what a song.

How about the first concert you went to?

I haven’t been too many concerts to be honest. The first one was The X Factor Live Tour – I guess it was quite good. 🙂

What would you say the best concert you’ve ever been to was?

I haven’t been too many at all, but I do plan to go to loads very soon.

Who would you say your biggest musical influences are?

Ed Sheeran and Ben Howard – those guys are too good, like, serious.

Dead or alive, which musicians would you most like to be in a band with?

Elvis or Michael Jackson – such legends.

nathan fansWhat made you decide to get into music?

I enjoy it so much and it’s a great feeling being on stage and making people smile with my music.

Do you have any advice for any budding musicians?

Just work hard, be yourself and ignore any negativity which comes with being a singer.

What’s your favourite memory from a gig you’ve played?

Portsmouth was my first ever gig so I will always remember that one.

Of your own original songs and covers, which is your favourite?

Probably “Lost” as it was one of the first songs I wrote and it got a very positive response when I released it.

Tell me one outrageous fact that hardly anyone knows about you.

I’m scared of cats, haha – not good.

Have you got a current project that you would like to raise attention regarding?

Yes, so much is going on being the scenes. That’s all I will say for now but big things are coming…

Ready for the quick fire round? What colour socks are you wearing?

Grey

ScreenHunter_172 Nov. 07 11.15Which do you prefer: early mornings or late nights?

Late nights

Gold or silver?

Gold

Sorbet or ice cream?

Ice cream

Vegetables or fruit?

Fruit

Recording music or playing live?

Live, all day

Bus or train?

Train

Piercings or tattoos?

Piercings

BBC or ITV?

ITV

Do you believe in ghosts?

I do indeed

What’s the best/worst chat up line you’ve ever heard?

Grab your coat, you’ve pulled

It’s been great having you on my blog. Best of luck with all of your future ventures!

Thanks so much, and I’d just like to say thanks again to everyone who has supported me and my music. There is so much more to come and I am willing to work so hard to achieve my dream. 🙂 Much love, Nathan.

CALLING ALLYou can check out Nathan on Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and Facebook. Give this interview and Nathan’s music a share!

You can keep up to date with all of my interviews and other posts by following this blog or my social media sites displayed in the sidebar of the page (now including Facebook!).

Likewise, if you are a musician or band member, you can get in contact in regards to an interview (and free promotion!) by contacting me via social media or email.

PAINT AND PAPER

Published by

SJ

Blogging since '12.

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

