Over the Rainbow

tumblr_nqk2et0HYO1tr3257o1_1280

It’s not often that I’m behind on the news but I’m disappointed each time I am. I was especially disappointed this afternoon when I heard that I had missed the announcement of one of the most important milestones in social justice of my life time: homosexual marriage is legal in all 50 states. As an issue I feel very strongly about, I was understandably ecstatic as to hearing the news. I have been known to campaign for equality – particularly LGBT equality – and hold very strong views on the topic.

I cannot fathom the concept of homophobia, racism or any other discriminatory behavior. Whilst the colour of your skin and who you fall in love with are both natural things, prejudice attitudes are not.

I’ve ranted against homophobia many a time – online and in person – and I’m unlikely to stop until it’s been completely eradicated. If that means I’ll be speaking forever, then so be it. Let’s start with the phrase everyone has heard:

Love is Love

Not only is love a natural emotion, and one that most people experience within their life, more often that not, it cannot be controlled. Likewise, it doesn’t generally affect people other than those in love. This begs the question, who has the right to tell a person who they can or cannot love? The person you fall in love with is not someone you have chosen out of the millions of people on Earth. The person you fall in love with is someone you have met and formed a connection with and that connection is as valid, regardless of the gender.

It’s a concept I won’t ever be able to understand, and an injustice I will never cease to be angered by, that someone could disagree with the concept of love – particularly when it’s likely not to affect them at all.

Homosexual people deserve complete equal rights under law. They deserve the right to be homosexual and the right to express this, just as they deserve fully sanctioned marriage and any other rights granted to a heterosexual couple. This is why I’m so ecstatic over the recent news of gay marriage being legalised in the US. It’s not every country, but it’s progress, and that’s ultimately what we need.

I know that there are a lot of strong opinions and issues concerning same-sex couples starting families: the potential absence of a male or female influence or the possibility of the child(ren) being bullied, being just two. I’ve often heard people state that a same-sex couple raising a child is an act of selfishness because of these issues. Here’s some food for thought:

“The absence of male/female influences will be bad for the children”: 

  • Single parents are allowed to bring up their children. Single parents raise as many well-mannered, intellectual children as married parents do – or, whatever your definition of successfully raising a child is.
  • Likewise, you would not deny a heterosexual widow the right to bring up their children.
  • A male influence is not always a father. A female influence is not always a mother.

“The children will be bullied”:

  • Instead of restricting same-sex couples from having children, should we not be teaching our children not to bully?
  • Why are we punishing homosexual couples for a fault in society?
  • The sad truth is that you can be bullied for anything. If you’re fat, tall, short, thin, wear glasses, have freckles, laugh too loudly, have black skin, white skin, purple skin, green skin, ginger hair, blonde hair, your eyes are too far a part, or anything else, you’re always open to being bullied.

“It’s not natural”:

  • Of course it’s not. Neither is IVF – do you condemn that, too?
  • If a women cannot have a baby – whether because her body does not allow it, she has no partner or for some other reason – there are options available to her. Why should these options not be also available to homosexual couples?

I wouldn’t call myself a religious person. I have my own beliefs, and beliefs that are very personal, but I couldn’t pin myself down to just one religion. I like to think that I live by good morals, and you could consider that my “religion”, if I have one, is a mixture of several different religions. That being said, I do respect that people other than myself do have religions and I would never deem their beliefs any less valid than my own. However, it’s my own personal opinion that religious texts – such as the Bible and the Qur’an – should not be taken literally.

I believe that texts like these have more abstract meanings. I don’t believe that a person should live by the literal words of any religious text – especially when the pages of said texts could be turned over to contradict the teachings written on another page. Again, I’m aware that this is a controversial matter and I wish not to offend anyone.

Here are just two contradictions found in the Christian Bible:

MATTHEW 1:16 And Jacob begat Joseph the husband of Mary, of whom was born Jesus, who is called Christ.

LUKE 3:23 And Jesus himself began to be about thirty years of age, being (as was supposed) the son of Joseph, which was the son of Heli.

GENESIS 22:1 And it came to pass after these things, that God did tempt Abraham.

JAMES 1:13 Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God; for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man.

If you want to read more, you can do so by clicking here.

Source
Source

I cannot stand homophobic people. I cannot fathom their thoughts and I cannot even begin to try to understand how someone can be against telling a person that gay people exist. The fact that LGBTQ people are sorely under-represented in the media – particularly on children’s television – is wrong. Letting your children watch gay people on television will not make them gay. And, so what if it does?

When Disney represented a lesbian couple for the first time, there was huge media coverage. Whilst it’s wonderful that they did, it should be the norm. Likewise, I get so happy when I hear of shows such as SheZow – the gender alternating children’s superhero – but it shouldn’t be so amazing to find a show that represents a boy who wears both female and male clothing.

I could talk forever about how LGBTQ individuals are under-represented within the media and television, but I think I’ll just sit back and hope that we see a change. That, or I’ll write a future post about it.

I’ve always found the fact that being heterosexual and cisgender is expected of us. A straight teenager doesn’t have to come out to their parents, because everyone already assumes that they are straight, so why should a gay teenager have to come out? The fact that there are so many people of all ages and backgrounds that are terrified to come out screams that there is something deeply wrong with society. Nobody should be afraid of loving another human.

I’ve shared this video before, many a time, but that’s because I truly believe it is a special and heartbreaking story. If you can spare another ten minutes of your day, I strongly suggest watching it. Furthermore, if you have any more time to spare, the short video has been developed into a documentary.

With a final note, congratulations to the fifty states of America for making this massive step! With other countries already have achieved this milestone and many more sure to follow, equality seems to become a more realistic prospect each day.

If you found this post interesting or agreed with it, or disagreed with it, please let me know and start a discussion in the comment section below. Likewise, please consider sharing this post on Facebook, twitter and other social networking sites. It just takes ten seconds and it would be greatly appreciated.

For LGBTQ people – young and not-so-young – here are a list of resources you might find useful:

Published by

SJ

Blogging since '12.

7 thoughts on “Over the Rainbow”

  1. Love this post! It’s a huge step that a country as large and prolific as the USA has finally allowed this. I must admit that I rarely enter into arguments with homophobic people anymore because I simply cannot argue with something so illogical. The good thing is though, that many children growing up today will accept different sexualities as the norm so there will be less homophobics in the next generation. And so on… until all that’s left is an acceptance of love. Or so I hope!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree. I think the same will go for all forms of discrimination as generations become more and more accepting and understanding!

      Like

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

