Everything Happens for a Reason

I suppose I’m a logical person. Maybe that’s why I believe that everything happens for a reason. Whilst, scientifically, this isn’t really a logical belief in the slightest, it’s the only way I can make logical sense of our lives. I don’t believe that there are accidents in life. Or, if there are, they are so minor – like accidentally dropping a cup and smashing it, for example. I believe that every person you meet plays a role in your life and is put there for some reason; however small or however large; maybe to teach you something, maybe not to.

black-and-white, person, woman, night

Missing that bus to school – which you were sure would make you late, and one more late mark would land you in isolation – must have seemed like the worst luck, until it was reported on the news to have exploded a little down the route. Essentially, missing your bus could have landed you in isolation for a day but, instead, it saved your life. Losing that person who you thought the world of might have been the most difficult experience you’ve had, but later you realise that they needed to leave for there to be space for something better. Likewise, I believe that things go wrong so that you can appreciate the things that go right.

The reasoning behind some events and incidents can often be found instantly afterwards yet others take years and some may never reveal themselves to the naked eye. Whether there is an evident reason or not, believing in the concept of enduring pain for a reason can often acts as enough comfort to get through the worst of times. So, I guess sometimes all we can do is wait through the hard times and have faith that, eventually, all the pieces will fall into place.

Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can come together. – Marilyn Monroe

I find such comfort in this concept because, despite however illogical it may be, it is still so logical to me; the only logical explanation as to why things happen the way they happen; why bad things happen to good people. It’s the perfect contradiction.

Published by

SJ

A small-time teen blogger since '12.

6 thoughts on “Everything Happens for a Reason”

  1. I remember bawling my eyes out for writing ‘a’ honest man instead of ‘an’ when I was a kid. I had to work extra hard on Math to maintain my position, I was an extremely competitive nerd. That’s when I just fell in love with that subject. 10 years later and I was one of the toppers of the state in Maths. I met my best friend of 12 years in one of those advanced special Math classes. I can’t even imagine my life without her.My teacher at those classes is like a mother to me. It still gets to me sometimes that all this happened because of that one mistake in grade 2. I loved this post 😀 I can definitely relate.

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

