Ollie Wade

If you read the interview I did with Luke Potter, then you’ll know that I recently went to a local festival. Luke wasn’t the only artist I had the honour of watching perform, that day, and he wasn’t the only artist from the festival that I had the opportunity to interview, either.

Listen to more: Facebook | YouTube | twitter | Instagram | Ollie Wade Official

1Ollie Wade is an exceptionally talented singer-songwriter. His website states that he “has been involved in music since a young age and self-developed a loyal fan base who enjoy Ollie’s unique interactivity with them.”

Having appeared on national television, singing for Kate Middleton and just releasing his debut single, Ollie is certainly working his way to success. He has made considerable contributions to charitable causes, proving the kind-hearted spirit he’s often referred to having.

Getting the opportunity to catch up with Ollie and discuss his inspirations – and, indeed, the infamous interview question here on Delirious Antidotes, what colour socks he was wearing – went something like this:


Thank you for agreeing to this interview; have you any opening words?

You’re very welcome! Erm.. hopefully this interview will help give you an insight on my personality

ScreenHunter_34 Jun. 06 13.17
Ollie as ‘Link’

Why, and when, did you choose to get into music?
I started music fairly late which a few are surprised about. I used to play piano when I was younger, I got up to grade 2, then I picked up a guitar at around 15 but I didn’t start singing until I was 16 when I somehow got the lead role in a school musical, Hairspray! I got Link. I think it was from that, and surprising others including myself, that I learnt I could sing in tune! I wasn’t great to start with but with lots of practice I started to get better! It wasn’t until I was 18 when I started to take it a bit more seriously, on YouTube, and it wasn’t until last year when I was 19 that I decided to go for it, commit all my time to music and I came to The Academy of Contemporary Music. I love Music, it’s actually everything to me, I feel like I can be myself for the first time in my life and do what makes me happy. I wouldn’t want to do anything else.

Of your own songs and covers, which is your favourite?
I think the song I’m most proud of has to be, ‘I’ll Be There’. It was my first official single as an artist and the response I got from it was just amazing. Even my mates back home are singing it (my hardest audience)! When it got BBC introducing South track of the day, that has to be one of the proudest moments of my life.. as I wrote and composed that song all by myself 😀

If you could choose a maximum of three, minimum of one, who would you say your biggest musical influences are?
Jack Johnson, Ed Sheeran and Ben Howard for sure!

2What is one fact that hardly anyone knows about you?
Blimey, well my followers seem to know more about me now-a-days than I do haha. Erm.. Oo I know, I have an obsession for lights hahaa. Whenever it gets dark outside I have to turn off all the main lights and turn on the lamps. I get these cool neon lights and LED lights too… Bit OCD I know haha, but I love bright coloured lights and wacky lamps!

Where do you find your inspiration?
I wrote my first song for my late brother. I wanted to wish him goodbye and to do something special for him. This song obviously means a lot to my family and I and I couldn’t believe it when I got to sing it personally to Kate Middleton, go on Daybreak and it was fantastic how it raised so much money for Naomi House. So this inspired me to write more and become an artist – not just a cover singer.

What’s your favourite album by another artist?
I genuinely have so many favourite albums! From the “Red Hot Chili Peppers” to “The 1975’! I also love all of Ed Sheeran’s albums, Jack Johnson, Ben Howard, James Morrison.. ah I can’t pick, the list goes on!

What’s the first song you ever remember hearing?
‘Runaway’ by ‘The Corrs’. Very random I know!

When did you discover your talent?
Will have to be when I was playing ‘Link’ in Hairspray at school.

Are there are any particular projects or causes you would like to raise attention about?
I have a new single coming out this Summer which is going to be awesome 😀 Also I always like to promote the charity, ‘Naomi House’ which provides respite for children and young adults with special needs. A charity very close to my heart!

Quick fire questions, now. If you hadn’t been born in this century, when and where would you like to have lived?
I would have loved to live in the 1920’s in somewhere like New York! After watching the film, ‘The Great Gatsby’ I fell in love with the fashion and style at the time. I also think the Big Band music in the mid 20’s was so cool and stylish.

What form of public transport do you prefer?
Trains. I’m not a massive fan of any public transport to be honest though haha.

Chocolate or vanilla ice-cream?
Vanilla

Do you believe in ghosts?
Yes I do, especially spirits!

Gold or silver?
Gold

Ice cream or sorbet?
Sorbet

What colour socks are you wearing?
Yellow

Thank you again, Ollie, do you have any parting words?
Thank you very much for having me!

Remember that you can check out Ollie’s FacebookYouTubetwitterInstagramOllie Wade Official and the other interviews at Delirious Antidotes. Thank you again to Ollie Wade; it was an honour to interview you!

Published by

SJ

Blogging since '12.

One thought on “Ollie Wade”

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

