Is Homework Harmful or Helpful?

Is Homework Harmful or Helpful- (1)Just over two years ago, on my previous blog, I posted an article discussing whether or not homework was harmful or helpful after I carried out a series of surveys. I have decided to re-write the said post.


There’s something about homework that is incredibly unappealing. Perhaps it’s because extra work or revision is the last thing you want to do upon arriving home after a six hour day of, well, exactly that – work and revision. But, is homework as harmful as you might expect? In fact, is it even as helpful as you might expect?

As a young person who attends school myself, homework can become one of the biggest inconveniences. Most days I am at school from eight until five, attending extra-revision sessions as my final exams come up. Let it be said that I have no problem with having to complete coursework at home because it will 100% benefit me. I also have no problem with revising, sitting practice exams or completing work that is related to what we are learning, because I will reap the reward. The most frustrating thing of all is when you are given homework that has absolutely no relation to class work or exam preparation.

I haven’t been in high school in quite some time, but I remember often being frustrated at how much homework I was assigned – particularly since I was a good student who usually understood the information I was given the first time I received it. The exception to that was math, and it was the only class where I actually requested more homework because I needed the practice. Lili

The purpose of this unnecessary homework is often hard to find and instead means that I am working an extra hour every night without reason. The problem with this pointless homework is that it is detrimental to us, rather than having any benefit. We are expected to meet our homework deadlines on time, we are also expected to make time to relax, spend time with family, spend time with friends and get enough sleep. With twenty-four hours a day, that proves somewhat difficult.

That being said, I am not against homework. Homework teaches you the importance of meeting deadlines, preparing you for your career where deadlines will be vital, and it is also beneficial towards your exam results.

Learning and self teaching is where you truly learn how to understand a subject. My genetics teacher in college was horrible, so I had to teach myself just about everything I could and that was through homework and reading the book. And that was work, but hey… Deoxyribonucleic acid… I can spell that from memory now! CelestialSheep

I believe that homework is helpful, if it’s the right type. If it’s irrelevant, it’s somewhat more harmful as it has a negative affect on your balance in life. I wouldn’t condone it believe removed from a school curriculum, but the quantity of it instead be reduced and it be fine tuned to ensure that it is always beneficial.

What do you think on the matter?

Published by

SJ

A small-time teen blogger since '12.

2 thoughts on “Is Homework Harmful or Helpful?”

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

