The Creative Urge

The desire to create is one of the deepest yearnings of the human soul. No matter our talents, education, background, or abilities, we each have an inherent wish to create something that did not exist before. Everyone can create. You don’t need money, position, or influence in order to create something of substance or beauty. Creation brings satisfaction and fulfillment. We develop ourselves and others when we take organized matter into our hands and mold it into something of beauty.

– Dieter F. Uchtdorf –

If you create anything at all (which is pretty much everyone, so, probably, you), then you most likely know of the creative urge.

For me, more often than not, I find that my muse is very much MIA and no amount of search parties can find it. Although, inspiration does strike me at the most bizarre (and often inconvenient) moments.

For example, after a bad day I’ll often feel the burning desire to paint or create something expressive. I’d suppose this is because my emotions are running high and the most therapeutic (and indeed healthiest) way of releasing them would be through creativity. Or, I’ll have a sudden spur of creative urge at two am, just as I’m about to settle down to sleep after a long day.How can the creative urge be described?

I can best describe the urge I experience as a reluctant fire that is started in my stomach and spreads to my chest; a kind of fire that can only be put out by fulfilling it’s demands. Can this definition also relate to inspiration?

The urge to destroy is also a creative urge.

– Pablo Picasso –

Do you experience any form of a creative urge? How can you best fulfill it? How would you describe the urge? Tell me about something you’ve created? Talk to me in the comment section.

Published by

SJ

A small-time teen blogger since '12.

3 thoughts on “The Creative Urge”

Share your thoughts, or just say hi!

